Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Text Size

Political Background


Ed DeGrange served four years as a Councilman on the Anne Arundel County Council representing Councilmanic District 2. His term of service was characterized by dedication to his constituents and community. Ed DeGrange worked for sensible growth, stronger public schools, a stronger local economy and better public safety. His service on the Council, particularly the understanding of local government that he developed, have better-prepared him to serve his constituents as a State Senator.

In 1998 Ed DeGrange was elected to serve in the Maryland Senate representing Legislative District 32. He is currently serving his fifth four-year term. While in the Senate, Ed DeGrange has accomplished many things for Northern Anne Arundel County.

One of his first accomplishments arose from the passage of the BWI Enhancement legislation. This legislation was the first of its kind in the nation and established an advisory committee which reviews and recommends the distribution of funds to communities surrounding the airport.

In addition, he has also worked to improve the communities that he represents by helping nonprofit organizations in District 32 obtain State funding for certain projects. Some of the projects that have come to fruition as a result include a new facility for Opportunity Builders, a field house and press box at the Old Mill High School Stadium, improvements to the Women’s Club of Linthicum Heights and the Jessup Community Hall,  the creation of the Linthicum Veterans Memorial, and the renovation of the Benson Hammond House in Linthicum Heights.


James E. DeGrange, Sr. | State Senator, District 32 | James Senate Office Building | 11 Bladen Street, Room 101 | Annapolis, MD 21401  james.degrange@senate.state.md.us

Phone : 410-841-3593 | 301-858-3593 | 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3593

Fax : 410-841-3589 | 301-858-3589

Visit Senator DeGrange on Facebook.

Authorized and paid for by The Friends of James (Ed) DeGrange. Michele DeGrange, Treasurer. This site was not paid for with taxpayer money.